Vocal Music Guide: Websites, Bibliographies & Repertoire Lists

An annotated bibliography of 544 works for vocal chamber music composed between 1945 and 1980. Provides composer, title, publication information, titles of individual movements, author of the text, duration, date of composition, and other relevant remarks. Three appendices list works in order by (1) scoring, (2) number of performers, and (3) ensemble. Title and general indices.

Bibliography of vocal music in print (at the time of this book's publication). Arranged in alphabetical order by composer, then by title. Provides scoring and publication information. Composer and title indices published as a separate volume. Supplemental volumes prepared by Gary S. Eslinger and F. Mark Daugherty.

Chapter 7 is an annotated bibliography of nearly 9,000 duets for female voices published between 1820 and 1995. Provides composer with dates, title, opus and other numbering, scoring, publisher, and other comments. Indices for voice specification, accompaniment other than piano, and titles.

Annotated bibliography of nearly 2,300 vocal works. Provides composer, title, language, author of text, vocal range, tessitura, difficulty level, voice type, and other pertinent notes. Organized into 12 chapters: (1) arts song in English; (2) folk songs and spirituals; (3) arts song in Italian; (4) lieder; (5) melodie; (6) musical theater selections; (7) operatic selections; (8) oratorios, cantatas and masses; (9) recital groups; (10) Russian art songs; (11) Spanish art songs; and (12) voice with orchestra and solo cantatas. Composer, title, poet, range, and difficulty level indices.

Annotated bibliography of more than 400 materials to aid singers, coaches, and accompanists. Divided into 10 chapters: (1) dictionaries, encyclopedias, related sources; (2) guides to repertoire and research; (3) synopses, translations, and diction; (4) preparation, accompanying, coaching; (5) discographies and videographies; (6) pedagogical resources; (7) stage resources; (8) travel and education; (9) Internet and electronic resources; and (10) periodicals. Author, title, and subject indices.

Annotated bibliography of nearly 8,000 vocal works. Provides composer, title, vocal range and tessitura, and other descriptive remarks. Divided into 4chapters: (1) songs and airs before the 19th century; (2) songs of the 19th and 20th centuries; (3) folk songs, and (4) operatic excerpts. Each chapter is further classified by subject or voice type.

Annotated bibliography of more than 5,600 musical settings of American poety by more than 100 poets. Most of the settings are songs and choral music. Provides composer with dates, source of text, composer, title, publication information, scoring, discography, and other information. Index to composers and titles of literary works.

An annotated bibliography of 63 contemporary (as of 1998) English-language vocal works. Organized into six sections titled Technical I, Technical II, etc. The higher the number, the more difficult the work is. Provides title, date of composition, composer with birth date, author of text, scoring, duration, and lengthy annotations. Composer index.

Bibliography of thousands of works for voice in 5 volumes: vol. 1, coloratura soprano, lyric soprano, and dramatic soprano; vol. 2, mezzo soprano and contralto; vol. 3, lyric and dramatic tenor; vol. 4, baritone and bass; vol. 5, program notes for the Singer's Repertoire. Provices composer, title, level of difficulty, vocal range, and publisher. Volumes 1 through 4 are further subdivided into numerous sections.

Annotated bibliography of 2,022 songs for bass voice. Provides compoer/arranger, title, language, publisher information, range, level of difficulty, and other notes. Organized into 13 chapters: (1) art-song anthologies and collections for beginning bass voice; (2) for intermediate bass voice; (3) for advanced bass voice; (4) additional art-song anthologies and collections; (5) art-song collections of a sing composer; (6) song cycles and sets; (7) bass voice with instruments including solo cantatas; (8) operatic antologies, collections and concert arias; (9) athologies and collections of arias from cantatas and oratorios; (10) sacred songs; (11) music theatre anthologies; (12) song anthologies of spirituals, Russian folk songs, and sea shanties; and (13) additional songs. Various indices, including special characteristics, composers, titles, and publishers.

Annotated bibliography of nearly 1,000 sacred solo vocal works. Provides title, translation of title into English, voice type, author of text, vocal range and tessitura, suitable occasions, and other descriptive remarks. Also includes ca. 150 choral works. Several indices: occasions, voice types, titles, and composers.